👩🏾‍💻 No one in my village knows what coding is - Sapnewali Lily Lakra (Tech4Good Fellow)

“Coding was a new field for me as I was an Arts student. I didn’t even know what coding was. In fact, no one even in my village knows what coding is. I am very happy because I now know what coding is,” says Lily Sneha Lakra.

Lily is 23 years old and from Chandapara village, Khunti District in the state of Jharkhand. She graduated in English Literature from Yogoda Satsanga Mahavidyalaya in Ranchi.

While studying, Lily volunteered with an organisation named Pratigya that provides food and education to children from low income families. Through her acquaintance with the founder, Lily easily connected with the people in the organisation. She attended life skills classes at Pratigya where she learnt about career planning, financial savings and public speaking. Lily’s volunteership at Pratigya lasted 3 years following which she became a Child Health Educator with them. Her role involved conducting monthly sessions on health with children.

Lily thoroughly enjoyed teaching and did so for two years. She also taught English to the students of class 1 till 4. When Covid19 struck, Lily had to stay home while attending college lessons online. In 2021, Lily and some other students like her began tutoring children for free so that they could access education during the lockdown.